Why Were The Rush-Bagot Agreement And The Convention Of 1818 Compromises

The rush bagot pact was an agreement between the United States and Great Britain to eliminate their fleets from the Great Lakes, with the exception of small patrol vessels. The 1818 convention established the border between the territory of Missouri in the United States and British North America (later Canada) at the forty-ninth parallel. Both agreements reflected the easing of diplomatic tensions that led to the War of 1812 and marked the beginning of Anglo-American cooperation. Mr. Bagot met informally with Foreign Affairs Minister James Monroe and finally reached an agreement with his successor, Current Minister Richard Rush. The agreement limited military navigation on the Great Lakes to one or two ships per country on each sea. The U.S. Senate ratified the agreement on April 28, 1818. The British government felt that an exchange of diplomatic letters between Rush and Bagot was sufficient to make the agreement effective. American political leaders had long expressed an interest in disarming the Great Lakes and had proposed such a measure in the negotiations that led to the Treaty of Jay of 1794, but British officials had rejected this proposal.

During the War of 1812, Britain and the United States had built fleets of ships on the lakes of Erie and Ontario and had fought many battles in the region. By the end of the war, American forces had acquired supremacy over the lakes. After the war, the two powers were cautious with the military force of the other, followed by a race to shipbuilding after the war. But both countries also wanted to reduce their military spending. Unfortunately, the Treaty of Gant, which ended the war, contained no disarmament provisions. However, it has set up commissions to eliminate disputed areas along the border (as stipulated in the Paris Treaty of 1783) between the United States and British North America. The agreement on fishing, borders and the re-establishment of slaves between the United States and the United Kingdom, also known as the London Convention, the Anglo-American Convention of 1818, the 1818 Convention or simply the Treaty of 1818, is an international treaty signed in 1818 between the aforementioned parties. This treaty resolved border issues between the two nations. The contract allowed the common occupation and colonization of the Oregon Country, known to the British and in Canadian history as the Columbia District of the Hudson`s Bay Company, including the southern part of its sister district of New Caledonia. In the mid-1840s, the tidal wave of American immigration, as well as an American political movement to claim the entire territory, led to a renegotiation of the agreement. The Oregon Treaty of 1846 established the 49th parallel as a long-term border between the United States and British North America and the Pacific Ocean. [Citation required] Despite the relatively friendly nature of the agreement, it nevertheless led to a bitter struggle for control of Oregon Country over the next two decades.